Lady FairyBread

Stop looking behind in the past, or you'll never see what's standing infront of you!

Are you letting your children out for Halloween?

Every year this comes about, the big debate on whether or not we should allow our children to do Halloween.

Trick or Treating is just a form of begging.  It’s teaching our children that it’s ok to knock on strangers doors.  We teach our children to never accept things off of strangers.

I agree with it all, but I contradict myself every year and I allow my children to go out and Trick or Treat in our area.

Why?  Because it’s a tradition.  It’s something I did as a child, something my husband did as a child.

We’re not religious, we just do this as a bit of fun.  It’s something that the children look forward to, not just the treats, but to dress up, to go to Halloween parties etc.

My children will not be going on their own until a few years time and hopefully another mother will agree to allow their child out with a group of friends lol.

We never do trick and if anyone asks they just say ‘we’ve been brought up better than that’ or ‘we’re not horrible kids’, that usually gets a smile off of the household lol.

I’ve never done this on my own with the kids, usually my husband is with them and I wait at the end of the garden lol.

Halloween.

You’ve seen many movies or TV series about supernatural/underworld, even a film called Spooky Buddies (something like that lol) shows that on the Eve of All Saints Day the barrier between our world and the spirit world is at it’s weakest and that spirits break free into our world and roam the earth – hence why you have people dressing up as witches, ghosts etc.

The tradition of going from door to door receiving food already existed in Great Britain and Ireland in the form of ‘Souling’, where children and poor people would sing and say prayers for the dead in return for cakes.  Guising – children disguised in costumes going from door to door for food and coins – also predates trick or treat, and is recorded in Scotland at Halloween in 1895, where masqueraders in disguise carrying lanterns made out of scooped turnips visit homes to be rewarded with cakes, fruit and money.  (sourced online)

I guess Souling and Halloween (Celtic belief) just merged into the two.

Single Post Navigation

Hey! Drop me a line or two :)

